Do Dreams Have Meaning?

I’ve always believed some dreams have great meaning.  Some may be all about what I ate before I went to bed, while others may be a message of inspiration or maybe even a warning.

Dreams

We can read about the subject of dreams in the book of Daniel in the Bible. King Nebuchadnezzar had dreams that disturbed him and he wanted to know what they meant. No one could interpret them other than Daniel.

Daniel served God and God allowed Daniel to know the meaning of the king’s dreams and he was able to reveal to Nebuchadnezzar what his dreams meant. This is why I believe God gives us information in dreams.

Last night I dreamed I left my purse sitting some random place for a few minutes unattended. When I returned I noticed my purse had lots of moisture in it, and all of my debit cards, credit cards, drivers license, and social security card had been stolen.

I knew who stole my stuff, but I don’t remember his face (you know how dreams go.) I did however go to this person and demand my cards back. This man made them unusable and put them in different places, so I had to search for them. When I found them I couldn’t use them anymore. I  was about to call the bank to cancel the old cards and replace them with new ones just before I woke up.

As I went through the day, I felt in my spirit that God was revealing to me what this dream meant:

  1. He is washing some things from my life that I thought would always be there, only they need to go. (the moisture in my purse.)
  2. There’s no need to search for or look back on the old things (the unusable cards) because they need replacing with new things.

Is this awesome or what?!? I have to admit, I’m a bit nervous though. This has meant I lost what I thought was a wonderful job. I’ve lost a couple of friends who I thought were good for me. I’m also facing challenging tests and a few potentially fantastic opportunities.

I feel as though I’m in the middle of the ocean with no land in sight, and God wants me to depend upon and trust Him with all the details of my life. Moving to a new level with God always means stepping out of my comfort zone. When I trust Him and step out in faith, I never regret it.

So, here I stand, a brand new chapter of my life is beginning. Although, I’m only human and have a few butterflies, I stand amazed and in awe of a loving Heavenly Father who has only my best interests at heart.

“..Praise the name of God forever and ever, for he has all wisdom and power. He controls the course of world events; he removes kings and sets up other kings. He gives wisdom to the wise and knowledge to the scholars. He reveals deep and mysterious things and knows what lies hidden in darkness, though he is surrounded by light. I thank and praise you, God of my ancestors, for you have given me wisdom and strength. You have told me what we asked of you and revealed to us what the king demanded.” Daniel 2:20-23 (NLT.)

 

Leave a Reply

