Cloudy with a Chance of Teardrops

Weather in the south…….ya gotta love it! A most talked about subject every day of the week is weather in lower Alabama.

Weather

We’ve had snow in March. Some weeks it rains for days on end. I’ve experienced a drop in temperature from the 70’s to 40’s during my child’s birthday party. Our guests arrived dressed for summer and needed a jacket when leaving. And it was in September.

My mindset about the weather is why complain? It’s God’s climate to control the way He wishes. I’ve also lived here all of my life I should be used to it by now.

Speaking of the change in weather…..we women are quite a bit similar. Our emotions tend to keep us going in several directions from one day to the next; maybe hour to hour. It’s not a fun change.

I believe we are all struggling with something. It could be:

  • Weight
  • Health
  • Finances
  • Relationships
  • Depression
  • Anxiety
  • Employment
  • Lack of self esteem
  • Abrasiveness
  • Spirituality

The list could go on and on and on. Some may be struggling with several at once. A precious loved one told me she cried in the shower one day last week while getting ready for work because of pure exhaustion -physical and emotional.

If I heard it once last week, I heard it a thousand times, “I”m just tired!” Ladies, we’re worn out from going from partly cloudy to sunny skies or oppressively hot to rainy, damp, and cold. There is, however, good news. We don’t have to ride the emotional roller coaster.

Today as I am home alone and not celebrating Father’s Day with my dad because he is in heaven, I have cried and laughed, and at one point I was doing both, simultaneously. Feeling worn out emotionally, I’ve laid it all at my Savior’s feet. He’s a big God. He can handle it. Better yet, He wants to handle whatever it is we are struggling with today.

This may be a daily process of saying to God, “I give you my struggles to turn into good in this life You’ve given me.” It may take twice a day until we have learned to trust God’s heart of love for us. Do it though, no matter how many times it takes.

Handling things our way may be what brought us to the point of struggling. Maybe not. Whatever the reason, God’s ways are better than ours.

Let go……..drop it…..don’t dwell on it…..Let God handle it!

Those who live in the shelter of the Most High will find rest in the shadow of the Almighty.

 Psalm 91:1 (NIV.)

 

 

2 comments

  1. this was awesome… and so true! i’m a little anxious myself today because i got up late, didnt go to church, i want to be with my dad today in NC to help celebrate father’s day, and i’ve been worried about the “what ifs” of next week – all because i didnt lay it down at the feet of Jesus. So thank for posting this as a personal reminder that i need to do that!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

