My Chains are Gone

Last Saturday I celebrated my spiritual birthday. Twenty-seven years of walking with God, what a blessed woman I am.

Chains broken

Looking back over the years I can clearly see God teaching me new and exciting truths. I’m not done learning though. As a matter of fact, I never want to be finished until I see the face of God.

God showed me something new just yesterday. And you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free. John 8:32 (NLT.) I’ve always known that once we invite Jesus to be Lord of our life we are no longer bound to sin and death. Jesus loved us enough to take that for us. What I didn’t completely understand was, we now have the power through Christ to conquer every sin that comes our way.

This might seem simple to you, but for me it’s a tremendous breakthrough.  Each day the enemy tries to steal my joy. You see, he’s extremely evil and crafty so we need to be on our toes and fully adorned with the armor of God.

Remember in Matthew 4:1-11 when Jesus was tempted by the enemy? Jesus had just completed a forty day fast. The Scripture says, “He was hungry.” So just in the fashion of the snake himself, he came to tempt Christ at a weak moment, just as he does us.

My mother told me repeatedly as a teenager I became grouchy if I was hungry or tired. So she made sure to keep me well fed and rested. She knew that was what I needed to be at my best.

What do we need to be at our best as we go through our day to day lives?  I believe there are a few things:

  1. Study, study, and then study God’s Word.
  2. Remember, we are most free when we can quote Scripture in a moment of temptation. Temptation comes in many forms – gossiping, tempers, cheating,…
  3. Keep in mind we are not fighting fleshy wars. The war that’s going on isn’t between you and a family member, co-worker, or even a stranger in the check out line at Wally World. It goes much deeper than that. For we are not fighting against flesh-and-blood enemies, but against evil rulers and authorities of the unseen world, against mighty powers in this dark world, and against evil spirits in the heavenly places. Ephesians 6:12 (NLT.)
  4. Pray God’s Words back to Him. Aren’t we proud when our children use strategies they’ve learned from us to make it in the world? So is our Heavenly Father when His children use His very Words to pray in the midst of a trial.

Yes, I’m free. Only, not to skip work and go to the beach, but to overcome tough situations and remain sin free. Rest assured we will encounter some form of temptation each day of our lives as children of the King.

As the song goes, “I’m no longer a slave to sin. I am a child of God.”


3 comments

Leave a Reply

