Uncertainty

Did you feel sad today?

Did you feel happy today?

Did you become angry as some point today?

Did you have a hot flash today?

Hot flash

If you answered “Yes,” to any or all of the above questions…..you…are…a…woman!

Women are emotional creatures as a rule; however, throw in a little menopause and that will get the party started for sure. When my mother went through “the change of life,” I asked myself, “Who is this woman and what did she do with my mother?” Now that I’m of age I am positive I know a few people, at minimum, who question my emotional status from time to time.

Some days I could experience the whole spectrum of emotions within an hour. I’ve been know to laugh and cry simultaneously. Those are the days I would like to stay in bed, eat peanut butter cups, and watch sappy movies.

There is one feeling I didn’t include on purpose, uncertainty. It needs to be dealt with alone. In a situation where the answer to a problem is unknown for a certain amount of time, things can get pretty scary. I know, scary is not of God. Right? Right!

The truth is a few weeks ago I found myself in the midst of a troubling situation with no answer in sight. I was scared. I became depressed. I experienced anxiety. I tried to fix things myself. The only thing left to do was turn to God and declare I was going to praise Him in the uncertainty just as I would if I had an answer. (I should have started there instead of allowing myself to get to the point I did before giving all of my worries to the Lord.)

Guess what? I wasn’t scared anymore. My depression lifted. The anxiety turned into praise. And I had a peace within my soul that nothing of this world could put there. God shares with us in Philippians 4:4, Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! So that’s what I did, even without an answer to my problem. I just praised Him because He’s good.

God also said, Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation , by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:6-7 (NIV.)

Within the next few days of my declaration to God I received my answer. It came out of no where, and it was brilliant. Only God can do that! And I want to keep my peace so I’m going to leave all of my other roller coaster of emotions with God as well. He said it and He cannot and will not lie. All I have to do is pray and give thanks to God. And perhaps purchase a small fan for my hot flashes.

Dove

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

