The Choice is Yours

Menopause is a beast! I wouldn’t wish it upon anyone, but if you’re a middle aged female you may have to experience it.

choices

The sermon at my church yesterday was about the greatest Commandment of all; to love God with all of your heart, soul, and mind. I was thinking to myself as the pastor spoke, “I got this. I love God with everything I have and am.” All of sudden I was brought back from my own thoughts to hear the next verse, which I’ve always known, but didn’t realize I was getting away from – love your neighbor as yourself.

God showed me how I’ve NOT been loving people. He didn’t condemn me. He says in Romans 8:1, So now there is no condemnation for those who belong to Christ Jesus. Jesus gently showed me areas that needed improvement. I’ve been so caught up in my hormones malfunctioning that I’ve gotten away from loving others the way I should.

On the ride home with my husband my menopause showed itself. I said, “I’m supposed to love the people who treat me ugly!”  Before I could say another word I heard Jesus’ slow to anger, full of unconditional love, voice say, “Remember how ugly the people were to me? Are you any better?”

I immediately said how sorry I was to my husband for saying that and began praying aloud to God for forgiveness. Instead of nudging me back on track like Jesus did, He easily could have stricken me dead for my attitude. Only, that’s not the nature and character of our Savior. He’s all about LOVE!

God is helping me to learn that love is not about feelings, it’s about making the right decision. Instead of holding grudges, screaming, having a bad attitude when someone does me wrong, I’m to choose what Jesus chose – humbleness and kindness.

It is so easy to love when things are lovely, but as soon as the enemy throws a dart in just for his giggles, that’s when what’s on the inside of us comes out. And I choose for that to be love.

Don’t even think this will be easy.It won’t – especially during menopause! I will; however, make the choice to remember that people are just made of dust from the ground. And God loves each and every one of us equally.

“Teacher, which is the most important commandment in the law of Moses?” Jesus replied, “‘You must love the LORD your God with all your heart, all your soul, and all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment.A second is equally important: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ The entire law and all the demands of the prophets are based on these two commandments.” Matthew 22:36 – 40 (NLT.)

Leave a Reply

