What Daddy Knew

When my daddy was alive he ate, slept, and drank fishing. He loved to be inside his boat out in the wide open lake. Needless to say, as a kid growing up, I ate lots of fish.

fishing

As Dad grew older I don’t know if fishing was as much about what he caught as it was about where he was. What a great time and place to spend quiet time with our Savior. He never seemed to have a bad fishing day.

I know there are several passages in the Bible that reference fishing. I wonder if Dad already knew something we are trying to figure out now.

  1. One day as Jesus was walking along the shore of the Sea of Galilee, he saw two brothers–Simon, also called Peter, and Andrew–throwing a net into the water, for they fished for a living. Jesus called out to them, “Come, follow me, and I will show you how to fish for people!” Matthew 4:18-19 (NLT.)
  2. And when he had finished speaking, he said to Simon, “Put out into the deep and let down your nets for a catch.” And Simon answered, “Master, we toiled all night and took nothing! But at your word I will let down the nets.” And when they had done this, they enclosed a large number of fish, and their nets were breaking. Luke 5:4-6 (ESV.)
  3. “Again, the Kingdom of Heaven is like a fishing net that was thrown into the water and caught fish of every kind. Matthew 13:47 (NLT.)

Jesus said in the Book of John to “eat of My flesh and drink of my blood.” When we take Communion at church, we do this symbolically of what Jesus was referring to in the Bible. What does it really mean?

In the verses above I see a connection – Jesus is speaking to people in a way they can understand.

I want to understand all God wants me to do for Him and what He wants to give me to use for His glory. In order to do this I’m going to make a new start in my Bible reading. I’m going to eat, sleep, and drink reading His Word. By digging into God’s Word and studying it, I know I will never be hungry or thirsty because I will continuously eat of His flesh and drink of His blood.

 

 

Leave a Reply

