Awestruck

I never ceased to be awed by God. Just when I think I’ve seen more than I deserve of the works of my Savior, He does it again.

awesome

Sitting on my front porch swing praying (more like whining) the same prayer I’ve prayed for months, God broke it down for me. He showed me the answer to a difficult situation. I chose the word, “showed,” because that’s exactly how it happened.

Most of my Christian life (26 years) I’ve asked God to be Lord of my life fresh and new each morning. Not only that, but to let me deny myself and follow Him. Sounds great, right?! Oh, and it’s easy to follow the commandments of God; do not steal, do not murder, do not take the name of the Lord in vain. However, an uncomfortable situation often sends my attitude on a downward spiral.

This particular day as I was telling God what I did not like, He reminded me of my prayer to Him and my willingness to serve. I felt in my heart God was saying, “This difficult situation is where I have placed you to represent Me. You asked for Me to use you and you wanted to pick up your cross and follow me, so you’re right where I need you to be for now.” While God was still speaking, a vision of myself with a crown on my head as a daughter of the King, being placed in the middle of what I had been struggling with was as real and vivid to me as me typing these words today.

Immediately I regained my joy, my peace, my good attitude, and thankfulness that God was using me. This event CHANGED my life.

I’m not a perfect person. I have never been a perfect person. I will never be a perfect person on this earth. Nevertheless, my perfect Father has once again left me awe stricken.

Then Jesus said to his disciples, “Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross and follow me. Matthew 16:24 (NIV.)

2 comments

  1. oh bff, how encouraging this is to me! thank you for being ovedient in sending this out to everyone who reads it as a witness for our Lord and as an encouragement! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

