My 5K

Several years ago I participated in a 5K run in Mobile, Alabama. I use the word participated because I did not run to say the least.

winner

Several coworkers signed up for the event, so I felt the need to sign up as well. The other ladies prepared by exercising, eating properly, and working out. I prepared by doing nothing, nothing at all.

The day of the race arrived and I was pumped! I had never done anything like this before. As a matter of fact I hadn’t run since 1983. Nevertheless, I was pumped and ready for action. I was given my official race t-shirt. Hooray! I loved the t-shirt. Now I could show everyone I was actually involved in a 5K marathon.

As it turned out, I ran for approximately……3 minutes…. and walked the rest of the way. When I crossed the finish line after 7 hours (Not really, but you get the idea.) I was happy I finished and had not given up, but disappointed because I didn’t make better time.

How was I to finish in record time without preparation? See that’s the one area of the event I wasn’t concerned with before the day came to put my feet to the test. Oh I had made sure my running pants were going to match with the t-shirt we were getting. I had cancelled all plans for that morning so I could attend. The things that I didn’t do were the most important though.

I’ve found the same to be true in my life sometimes. In 2 Timothy 4:7 and 8, we find that life itself is going to be a race and a fight.

I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, and I have remained faithful. And now the prize awaits me–the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will give me on the day of his return. And the prize is not just for me but for all who eagerly look forward to his appearing.

The only way to make it through our difficult situations is to prepare beforehand. By reading the verse above we know fights will come and we will feel like we’re racing, so we have to stay ahead of the enemy and all the fiery darts he throws at us by reading God’s Word, spending time alone in prayer with God, telling Him we trust Him to fight our battles and give up our own will and allow His to rule our lives.

With that kind of preparation we can not only finish our life proud, knowing we did all we could do for the Kingdom of God, but we can fight a good fight while we are still on earth.

Leave a Reply

