I’m Glad You Can’t Speak

One sniff of Nickie Saban Bell, my Yorkie, and I knew he needed a bath. It’s funny, but I think he understands some human words – like “bath.” When he hears that word he runs to hide.

001-2

This particular day had been a busy one. So busy, in fact, I enjoyed the silence when I walked into my house. I had heard people speak all day and didn’t like a lot of what I had heard.

When my husband arrived home, he helped me catch Nickie so I could bathe him. As I saw the dirt wash from his hair and go down the drain, I smelled a fresh, clean smell. I began talking to my puppy: “You’re such a clean doggie now.” You were such a good boy.” You’re going to get a treat.”  Then I stopped and noticed Nickie wasn’t talking back to me. I actually said audibly, “I’m glad you can’t speak.” But somehow I always know what he wants. I know when he wants to go outside, when he wants to eat, when he’s sleepy, and when he’s cold.

I started thinking about how I’ve never heard God speak audibly ; however, I always know when He speaks to me. I know exactly when I’m doing wrong, when I’m doing right, when He wants me to do something, and when He doesn’t. There’s nothing like hearing the voice of the Lord with my heart.

jesus-the-shepard

My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. John 10:27 (NLT.)

There’s, also, nothing like being obedient to God’s instructions and living in harmony with Him.

Leave a Reply

