What the World Needs to See

I’ve often heard when it rains, it pours. Not in a literal sense, rather symbolically.

person-in-rain

It had been several days since I’d had a day off from work. I was tired. My phone rang at 7:44 am (Yes I was still in bed. Don’t judge me.) My Mother in law had fallen and she couldn’t get up. Since she is 80 years old and has complex medical issues, I was concerned to say the least. When I got to her bedroom not only had she fallen, but she turned her bedside toilet over on herself and the carpet!

After a good shower, we found ourselves in the emergency room having a CT scan of her head to make sure there wasn’t a brain bleed. Scary stuff. She was hurting from head to toe. Her toe was broken, but only the toe. God is good. She could have been hurt worse. She is bruised from the inside out, but she is alive. Again, God is good.

With xrays and CT scans completed we headed home for her to rest. The doctor said she would experience pain for a few days, so she takes her pain medication and it’s off to her party land. She’s very sensitive to medication so she’s extremely funny to be around when she takes her pain meds.

With the fall behind us, my husband and I try to get things back to normal. What?!? What is normal? Our normal anyway.

We have the best caregiver in the world for Ms. Bell. I found her in the store. It was truly a God thing! She makes things much easier on Sam and me by taking care of his mother and cleaning our home

When Sam arrived home from work yesterday, he arrived to damaged plumbing in the bath tub. He had just steam cleaned the carpeting the night before, so he was very tired after work and not looking forward to what needed to take place to repair the plumbing.

Four hundred dollars later, the bathroom was complete. My husband was exhausted. My mother in law was still hurting and I’m dragging through the back door after working  two and a half hours over my scheduled time.

The worrying about the fall, the anxiety of waiting on results of all of the exrays and scans, both of our jobs, the care of an elderly mother after working all day, had taken it’s toll.

As Sam and I fell into bed last night, he says, “Oh I forgot to tell you. There’s a nail in your tire.” !#%%^&(()__  (That is screaming on the computer!) After the paychecks coming up short this month and the bills coming up tall, that was the nail that hit the hammer’s head!

I felt like going to bed and never getting up. I longed to stay in my pajamas for a few days. Sam felt the same way.  However, God had another plan. First, are any of these things more difficult to endure than the Cross? Absolutely not! Second, God wants us to learn how to rise above the circumstances of life. The only way to do that is to remain in God’s presence. If I have my mind completely focused on God and what He wants me to do with this life He’s given me, I cannot possible let the enemy get to me by the obstacle course that has taken place the past few days.

I believe that is exactly what is good for us and exactly what God wants……us to be able to rise above what happens and handle things with ease. Keeping our peace as we go through awkward and scary situations will allow the world to see God through our lives. I also believe that’s exactly what the world is waiting to see.

“Yes, come,” Jesus said. So Peter went over the side of the boat and walked on the water toward Jesus. But when he saw the strong wind and the waves, he was terrified and began to sink. “Save me, Lord!” he shouted. Jesus immediately reached out and grabbed him. “You have so little faith,” Jesus said. “Why did you doubt me?”  Matthew 14: 29-31 (NLT.)

jesus-helps-peter-out-of-the-water

2 comments

Leave a Reply

