Lemonade

I know you’ve all heard the words, “When given a lemon, make lemonade.” Or something similar. Right? Well, I had the opportunity to see God make lemonade right in the middle of my own yard.

lemons

Last year I wrote a blog titled My Imperfect Car. It was about the car I loved. In fact, I loved it so much I barely wanted anyone to ride in it with me. God showed me I had made it my idol, so He allowed another vehicle to crash into the side of it. This showed me in a mighty way that cars can be repaired, but human hearts that are broken are often difficult to mend.

That proved to be a grand lesson. I still enjoy my car and try to take care of it, but I don’t put it before my loved ones. I did, however, have dents and scratches left from the accident. Along with many others that appeared throughout the last year.

Every time I washed my car I discovered a new blemish. I resolved myself to the fact the car was two years old and was going to develop wear and tear. My favorite car EVER was not brand new anymore.

One day a storm came, and what we thought was a typical summertime thunderstorm proved to be much more. It was the straw that broke the camels back…………actually it was the wind that broke the tree in half.

A twenty-five year old tree that, to our knowledge, had not been compromised, snapped and fell …..you guessed it…..on top of my car! When the storm was over I stood and gazed in amazement. How?….Why?….When?….I didn’t know where to even start making sense of this.

car5

My husband called the insurance company as I cried (not really.) The next day a truck came and towed my car to the nearest body repair shop. I drove a rental car for the next three weeks. I went to the repair shop a few times to check on it. I remember the first time I drove up and saw a car that had been taken apart. It looked like a skeleton. I thought to myself, I’m glad that’s not my car. When I took a closer look….IT WAS MY CAR! Poor thing. It had been damaged more than we knew.

After three weeks I received my car back. It looked brand new. It had a new paint job and was looking fabulous. Wow! All those old dents and scratches from the previous accident and wear and tear were gone, because the entire car had to be painted. It was a beauty!

I thanked God for my new looking car. He had blessed me for learning the lesson He had taught me last year. The tree that fell onto my car was truly a lemon, but when I saw my car sparkle again like new I couldn’t taste the bitterness anymore. All I could taste was sweet lemonade.

And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to His purpose for them. Romans 8:28 (NLT.)

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

