What it Takes to Face a Giant

When I was growing up, a vacation was a day trip to the beach or a Saturday at Grandma’s house. Either way, my family traveled only an hour or so away from our home.

My mom and dad both worked and never could seem to line up their vacations. Since my family was quite dysfunctional maybe that was planned.

When I was grown with a family of my own I wanted to venture out and visit other places; travel. One day as my young family and I were on the way out of town, I gasped as I saw this:

img_54021

I wanted to jump out of the car rather than go across that ugly thing. My husband made a turn right before we reached the bridge and took me home. I’d never seen anything like it before, and at that second in time, hoped I never would again. So for years this was known as the “Big Bridge.” I’ve always liked to be on the ground –  I guess that’s the Native American in me. But oh did the enemy have something to torture me with…….and my family.

I learned from Lucy on the Charlie Brown show that the fear of crossing bridges is known as gephyrophobia. I learned from Jesus that fear is not of God.

For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-discipline. 2 Timothy 1:7 (NLT.)

After years of feeling guilty for not trusting God with this fear, I finally let God have it. I got into the car and headed in the direction of the GIANT! God helped me realize I did not need the strength to defeat a stronghold like the “Big Bridge.” Because HE would do it for me! All He needed from me was my willingness to head that direction. I let myself off the hook. I no longer had to be strong enough to do what seemed like nothing to everyone else.

Now days the interstate that leads to my daughter and grandchildren holds that little bridge in it. After all these years the enemy still wants to get into my mind about it when I go for a visit. I resist those thoughts by remembering what it takes to face a giant ………….. The strength of my Mighty God!

 

 

 

2 comments

  1. Enjoyed the reading LIsa. Brings to mind 2 of my favorite verses. Trust Iin the Lord with all thine heart and lean not unto thine own understading. In all thy ways acknowledge Him and He shall direct thy path. Prov. 3: 5&6.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

