When All You Can Do is Whisper

I was given the news a few days ago that someone I’ve known for a very long time shot and killed them-self. I cannot believe I just wrote that about someone I know. We hear about suicide everyday on the news, but we become desensitized until if affects people we know.

praying

 

Me being, well, me, I have tried to wrap my brain around why this happened. What could this dear, precious child of God have been thinking? What thoughts could have been running rampantly through the mind of this person? Those are questions the ones left behind will grieve over for the rest of their lives.

Then comes the coulda, shoulda, woulda’s. “I should have known.” I could’ve helped.” “I would’ve done something.” This is another part of the grieving process. As a matter of fact there are five steps to grieving that are healthy and natural to experience. You can go to this website for more information –  http://grief.com/the-five-stages-of-grief/

I’ve been through major experiences that have left me depressed and wishing that I was with Jesus in Heaven, but I have never contemplated taking my own life. Oh, the enemy would love for any Christian who is living for God and making a difference in the world to go away. We should all stay ready for the attacks of the enemy. He wants us dead!

The Bible states in Luke 11:21 -22 that the enemy is ready to attack. For when Satan, who is completely armed, guards his palace, it is safe until someone who is stronger attacks and overpowers him, strips him of his weapons, and carries off his belongings. (NLT.)

We have to be ready! We have to be stronger than the enemy who wants to kill us. Often times we are so tired of fighting one battle after the other that we don’t feel like we even have the strength to pray. That is when we whisper the name of the One who is STRONGER!! Whisper JESUS…..just whisper JESUS…..JESUS….JESUS. You say you have faith, for you believe that there is one God. Good for you! Even the demons believe this, and they tremble in terror. James 2:19 (NLT.)

When life gets to rough, when unwanted thoughts try and take over your mind, when you’re tired and weary, when you no longer want to live….whisper JESUS……..

img_5319

Leave a Reply

