It’s PJ Time

The older I get the earlier my pj’s seem to call my name. I was talking with a friend a few days ago and we both laughed at how we’d been so tired at times that when we finally had a day to ourselves we stay in our pajama’s until time to take a bath and change into a new set.

Is it just me or does time go by quicker than ever these days? I literally have to stop once in a while and say to myself, “Rest!” Rest is very important to our overall well-being so I try and listen for my body to tell me to take it easy.

Yesterday was one of those days when I had been so busy I didn’t know where the hours had gone. My mother in law has been very sick and my husband and I are taking care of her and both of us are working. We’ve dealt with doctors, hospitals, caregivers, and Sam’s work has been stressful. We have both experienced burn out this past week.

More children

As I finally decided to take a break and sit in my front porch swing at 7:00 pm last night, I saw two kids running toward my house. I didn’t know what to think. They asked to borrow our phone, so I lead them inside and Sam dialed the number for them to call their mother. It was about to get dark and they didn’t want to stay alone and was worried that something had happened to their mom since she hadn’t made it home from her doctors visit yet.

They spoke  to her, she was on the way home and all was well. The little girl and boy headed back to their house next door. An hour later with my pj’s on I heard a knock at the door. I have to tell you I was not looking forward to company as tired as I was. But when I saw the faces of the two little ones again, I forgot all about myself. Their mom still hadn’t made it home yet and it was dark…..and they were worried and scared.

Their mom had been held up in traffic and it was going to be a little while before she got home. Sam and I knew they had to be hungry so we prepared hamburgers. They were well behaved and used proper manners. They told us we were nice. I had to laugh as the five year old told me stories about how he would’ve used karate on a burglar if one had come to their house while their mom wasn’t home.

Children

The last thing I had in mind for my night was taking care of two kids. All I wanted to do was fall face first on my bed and not move until morning. The only thing was, I had never heard of Jesus doing that. When people were in need Jesus fulfilled that need. He wanted the kids needs fulfilled last night too, by me. I felt better when they left than I had before they came.

But Jesus said, “Let the children come to me. Don’t stop them! For the Kingdom of Heaven belongs to those who are like these children.” Matthew 19:14 (NLT.)

You see, Jesus lived on earth for 33 years only to serve, not to be served. If we are to be Christ representatives we are to do the same. It will mean getting our hands dirty from time to time. It will mean resting when we can because He may have other plans for us tomorrow.

Don’t misunderstand me, there is a time and a place for us to take care of ourselves because without getting the proper rest we will be of no help to others. But God’s work doesn’t come with time limits so don’t be discouraged when you have to give up your plans for Gods, because you will be blessed.

Suppose you see a brother or sister who has no food or clothing, and you say, “Good-bye and have a good day; stay warm and eat well”–but then you don’t give that person any food or clothing. What good does that do? James 2:15-16 (NLT.)

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

