Judgement Day (Originally posted 8/6/14)

“I tell you, on the day of judgment people will give account for every careless word they speak,” Matthew 12:36

I will have a lot to account for. Often times, words come from my mouth and I stop and wonder why I said them. Other times, I find myself caught up in the office drama, talking about people in ways that are not uplifting, knowing that I shouldn’t. I cant say,”My co-workers made me say it.” I have to account for the useless, non inspiring, non uplifting, words that I speak, to another person or about another person.

Before running out of the door one morning, almost late for work, I stopped by my open Bible on my dresser. A verse jumped out at me. “….be humble, be honest, live right, and speak less…” I mess that up everyday at some point, I ask God to forgive me, and I start again the next day. I’m proud to say that I’m doing better with God’s help.

We think that judgment day will be standing before God one day, and that will happen. However, someone goes through judgment everyday on the earth. Cruel words are spoken, someone looks down their nose at another person like they have never sinned.

I’m not perfect, nor is anyone else on this earth. God didn’t mean for us to judge and condemn each other, because we will all stand before the Judgment Seat of Christ, and will be judged as we judged others.

Keeping my mouth shut when I don’t have anything inspiring to say, is what God works with me on, daily. I’m usually lost in my thoughts about my next writing project, but can be enticed to jump on the band wagon with the office gossips. I don’t like that about me. And I intend to change it, with God’s help. I may have to duct tape my mouth shut, but I will win this battle.

Don’t judge anyone. None of us are sin free. We sin differently, but we all sin.

Photo courtesy of Kathleen Carlen Magnone
Photo courtesy of Kathleen Carlen Magnone
Leave a Reply

