I’m Only Human

I have been blessed in my life time to have made some great friends.

We will always have our “first friends.” The ones we made while we were growing up, the friends from our neighborhoods. Although all of us grew up and moved on to find our place in the  world, those friends will always have a special place in my heart. With social media I have become reconnected with almost all of them.

Then we have our school friends. Some come into our lives only for a season – some stay forever. If we think about it, though, all of them made an impression. Whether it be positive or negative.

As adults we are able to meet new friends through church and work. And eight years ago I met a special lady. I know this was a “divine connection.” We are totally opposite in some ways and alike in others, but most importantly we both have a deep love for Jesus.

197

041 001

My friend Kathy and I started out Saturday morning moving furniture and boxes. She was moving into a new home. My husband was kind enough to help with the heavy lifting. We worked in the heat and humidity of Alabama. We worked with several cats running in and out of our way. We worked even though each of us were worn out from the past week.

Moving boxes

Approximately ten hours later Kathy and I sat in a casual restaurant (No make up and no hair-do’s. We did bathe and change clothes though.) rewarding ourselves for an extremely exhausting day.

Share each other’s burdens, and in this way obey the law of Christ. Galatians 6:2 (NLT.)

While waiting for our orders, this is how our conversation went:

Kathy: I’m sorry if I was grouchy today.

Me: I’m sorry too.

Kathy: I’m just exhausted from all of this moving.

Me: I know you are. But that is what true friendship is all about. We can get grouchy sometimes.

Kathy: That’s right. We’re real. We can be ourselves.

Me: Exactly!

We had been ill with each other and my husband during the heat, mosquitoes, exhaustion, and hunger that day. It didn’t mean we stopped being friends or loving each other. It just meant we are human.

Jesus wants us to know He understands when we mess up. He is not angry with us. Jesus was in human form for 33 years. I know He is aware of the heat, mosquitoes, exhaustion, and hunger.

Jesus knows NO sin, so that tells me He was able to control His mouth. Just like Kathy and I discussed our feelings, we can do the same with our Heavenly Father. He is waiting and He will listen. He’s real! And He knows…….we are only human.

………For you were made from dust, and to dust you will return.” Genesis 3:19 (NLT.)

Leave a Reply

