Move Out of the Way!

This past week has taken its toll on my family. Several situations have come our way that left us hanging at the end of our own understanding.

My husband works for Balfour. If you’re not familiar, Balfour sells graduation supplies like cap and gowns, tassels, diploma covers, and many other items. Sam has worked with them for twenty years and he is great at what he does, because of who he is – a sincerely, good person. He provides a very nice living for us and I’m thankful for him. And we try always to give back to God the percentage He asks for.

While we were on vacation some paperwork was misplaced at Sam’s office and his pay check was affected. The first day back to work after vacation, my phone rang. I heard my husband’s sunken heart on the line. “My check is going to be $20 this week.” I would like to put an exclamation point behind that sentence, but he didn’t have that much strength in his voice when he said it. I make money, but it doesn’t come every week, nor is it as much as he makes, at this point in my writing career.

I started laughing when Sam told me about his check. Laughing! At that moment I knew without a shadow of a doubt – we were under attack!!!

My mother in law has been hospitalized twice in the past month with blood clots in her leg. The medicine prescribed to dissolve the clots makes her blood thin, and makes her bruise easily which makes her blood platelet count decrease. Her low blood platelet count is already a problem that she takes medication for….Ugh! Sam and I are taking care of her so we are living in her home at this time.

So here I am laughing my head off. The whole situation is just funny now! I’m no longer upset, I’m happy. For a split second I questioned my sanity! Then the Holy Spirit begins flooding my mind and heart with Scripture. Promises that God can’t break.

  1. Bring all the tithes into the storehouse so there will be enough food in my Temple. If you do,” says the LORD of Heaven’s Armies, “I will open the windows of heaven for you. I will pour out a blessing so great you won’t have enough room to take it in! Try it! Put me to the test! Malachi 3:10 (NLT.)
  2. We can rejoice, too, when we run into problems and trials, for we know that they help us develop endurance. Romans 5:3 (NLT.)
  3. Stay alert! Watch out for your great enemy, the devil. He prowls around like a roaring lion, looking for someone to devour. 1 Peter 5:8 (NLT.)
  4. For we are not fighting against flesh-and-blood enemies, but against evil rulers and authorities of the unseen world, against mighty powers in this dark world, and against evil spirits in the heavenly places. Ephesians 6:12 (NLT.)

When we started praying and extending our faith beyond our understanding God started working. Things got better when we  remembered to step out of the way of God’s work. He wants us to extend our faith. He wants us to stretch it just like I do in my yoga/pilates workout. God wants to show up and show out. So when you feel overwhelmed remember to pray and leave your circumstances with God. Move out of His way!

 

 

6 comments

  1. I too recently experienced a trying situation and the Lord lead me to read in the Book of Psalms not to get angry or worry, it does no good. Have faith. I am taking care of everything. I was instantly filled with peace that has not left me since and remember that verse when the devil comes a knocking.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

