The Birds and the Bees

I have a beautiful bush that shades one side of my front porch. I’m not sure of it’s name exactly, but the bloom is gorgeous. This time of year, flowers cover the bush and birds are usually flying all around it.

IMG_4569

A few years ago I decided to pick some of the flowers and make a lovely bouquet for my dining room. I placed the flowers inside a vase and positioned it just right on my table.

After a few minutes my husband and I noticed ants and spiders in the dining room near the vase filled with those beautiful flowers. When my husband noticed the flowers he made me aware that the bush outside which grew the flowers attracted spiders, bees, ants, and possibly other creatures. Spiders!?!

Spider

I quickly removed vase and all from the dining room table. We were able to get rid of the rodents before they could bite us and spread their poison. Spiders!?!

God began showing me a parallel between the world and the flower bush. Worldly, sinful things come in attractive packages…at first. I believe most of the time people get caught up in sin because of the way it looks or feels at the time. But what is left when that pleasure is gone is heartache and brokenness – poison.

People also come to us in godly form attempting to lead us astray. Not everyone you think is your friend and wants the best for you is your friend and wants the best for you.

We don’t always know what to do in certain situations. We don’t always know who to turn to for advice. That’s because the enemy wraps sin up to look so wonderful that sometimes we mistake it for the right thing to do.

Jesus makes it clear to us in 1 John 4:1-2 how to know if He is involved:  Dear friends, do not believe everyone who claims to speak by the Spirit. You must test them to see if the spirit they have comes from God. For there are many false prophets in the world.This is how we know if they have the Spirit of God: If a person claiming to be a prophet acknowledges that Jesus Christ came in a real body, that person has the Spirit of God.

You see, I found this out the hard way. With spiders involved! My flower bush looked so harmless and full of beauty, but when I tested it by making a bouquet for my table, I found the truth. Not everything that’s pretty is full of goodness.

011

 

Leave a Reply

