Transformation

I have to confess….I’m a flower killer  😦  I don’t intend to kill a plant but once the poor thing is left in my care…it’s pretty much a goner!

My grandmother and mother could put a seed into a pot and before long that seed turned into a beautiful creation. Something only God could do.

IMG_4622

My front porch swing was calling my name this morning so I sat for a while praying and enjoying the morning sun. When I turned my head in a different direction I saw the green tree beside my house had more blooms on it today than yesterday. It’s like they popped up all over the place, overnight!

That’s exactly what happened. A few days ago I captured a picture of the first bloom. The next day, a few more appeared, and today there are even more of the beautiful flowers.

When I started thinking more about the bush and how it came from a seed I thought about the seeds I’m producing. Yes, as children of God we should be planting seeds of Salvation in those who have never made Jesus, Lord of their lives. I wonder if any deeds or words that have come from me have ever planted a seed inside anyone’s heart? I may not know the answer until I get to Heaven. But that doesn’t keep me from trying everyday.

Planting a seed could be saying hello and smiling to someone as they pass you in the store. That person maybe contemplating an act of unkindness due to no kindness being shown to him/her. And when that person sees a smile and hears a “Hello”in passing from a stranger, perhaps his/her mind would be changed.

You see, there’s planting, fertilizing and harvesting that needs to be done.

1. Planting – a small act of kindness, living the life of love, from God, out in a world of hate.

2. Fertilizing – a person is interested and longing for God but doesn’t quite understand what being a Christian means. We may have a conversation with that person explaining how loving God and becoming a Christ Follower starts with a simple, earnest prayer.

3. Harvesting (the bloom)- a person has made a decision to make Jesus their Lord. We pray with that person and then celebrate their Salvation with God and all the angels in Heaven.

He said to his disciples, “The harvest is great, but the workers are few. So pray to the Lord who is in charge of the harvest; ask him to send more workers into his fields.”
Matthew 9:37-38

There are lost souls bound for hell. Without a seed there will be no bloom. We may not be the one who God chooses to plant the seed, fertilize it and harvest it. But I assure you our actions that we show to the world will either do one of them or none of them.

4 comments

  1. Great post! I love that you included something as simple as a smile in regards to planting seeds. So many of us don’t get the privilege of a home that is full of smiles, and many more are hurting inside. A smile can make a world of difference in someone’s life! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

