My Bad Attitude

Great is His faithfulness; His mercies begin afresh each morning. Lamentations 3:23.

This is one of my favorite Bible verses. Maybe it’s because I depend upon it each day. Perhaps each hour (sometimes every 15 minutes.)

I began my day with great expectations. God woke me up again…….blessing. He still loves me…..blessing. I have all of my needs met……..blessing. I’m about to begin my day of God’s work…..blessing. Then it happened! Someone wanted me to do something I didn’t want to do. Along came that bad attitude that so easily arises when things don’t go MY way.

Pouting

I didn’t say anything ugly to anyone. But I knew inside my heart what I was feeling. Disgust. Before I could do any damage, God spoke to my heart:

  1. I love you.
  2. I’m smiling upon you.
  3. I don’t like your attitude.
  4. You can change it now and start your day with a clean slate.

I immediately apologized to my husband for my bad attitude. I began thanking God for His blessings and for not letting the situation become one in which I would regret later. I started singing with my contemporary Christian music, singing praise to God. All of a sudden I didn’t have an attitude any longer.

Friends, this is a big thing for me. I have to work on my attitude, feelings, and emotions on a daily basis. And what I’ve learned over the years of dealing with the enemy’s fiery darts is:

  1. I don’t have to act the way I feel.
  2. I can repent and start my day fresh at any point.
  3. If I do give in to my feelings, the enemy likes it. (I don’t need any other reason for not letting my emotions rule me!)

Fighting

Let’s learn to see the enemy coming and stop him in his tracks. He’s already lost the battle and he’s nervous because Christians are beginning to wake up and stand firm in their faith.

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

