The Gong Show

I love to study personalities. I studied Psychology in college and the best part of the class was the study of all the different personality types.

Body language is another one of my favorite studies. I had to study this when I was in the Professional Development business. Body language says a lot about a person without a word spoken.

Guess what my dominant personality trait is? Assertiveness. Wow! Whoda thunk it? That’s a joke, I’ve always been aware of my assertiveness and at times, aggressiveness.

As a teenager my mouth got me into trouble with my parents a great deal. I can remember lots of times when my friends would call for me on the phone and my  parents would have to tell them, “She’s on phone restriction.” #givingawaymyage #nocellphones.

Since that time I’ve been called into full time ministry, which was less than a year ago. I’ve had to learn how to use my assertiveness for the good of others.

God has blessed me with the opportunity to speak to ladies about leaving their pasts behind and rebuilding a new, refreshing life with God. The ladies that I meet with are broken for various reasons. I pray before I begin speaking that God will anoint me with what I need to give hope to the hurting.

As a matter of fact, God has blessed me with several gifts which I can use for Him to help others find an abundant life overflowing with mercy and unfailing love. I am so perfectly imperfect, I often wonder why He chose me. I am most thankful though.

Although God has entrusted me with the gift of ministry, the tasks I complete mean nothing if I don’t do them with a good attitude and with love.

If I could speak all the languages of earth and of angels, but didn’t love others, I would only be a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal. 1 Corinthians 13:1 (NLT.)

Love is not an emotional roller coaster ride. Love is a choice. Let’s keep that in mind as we serve God. If there is no love involved, there is no worth in our service to Him.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

