This is Not Comfortable

I went to visit my daughter last week. I love to play dress up in her closet. The girl owns more clothes and shoes than I have in my whole life put together.

Clothes

She is 5’0 and I’m 5’4. She is petite and, well, I’m not. This means we are able to wear the same shirts and some of the same shoes, but not the same pants.

I was determined to find a pair of her pants that fit me. I thought it would make me feel slim and confident about my weight. Although I’m not over weight, I would like to lose a few pounds and a few inches.

After searching through stacks of slacks and jeans (I’m telling you my child has a tremendous amount of clothing) I finally found a pair of her pants that I fit into. It was a tight fit, but I was ecstatic.

We decided to go to the mall to shop for Mother’s Day gifts. I wore her pants, a shirt I found to match, a necklace that looked beautiful with the shirt, and earrings that I simply couldn’t go without. Oh, I must not forget the shoes that completed the whole look.

As the night went on, I was miserably uncomfortable. On the outside I may have looked stylish, but on the inside I wished that I could get home and change into my own clothes.

Isn’t this an exact scenario of what we do. We try so hard to fit into someone’s mission in life. The plan that God has for them. But that’s not the plan He has for us. If we were all meant to be the same God would have made us that way to begin with.

Clay

Be happy for other people when they accomplish a life long dream or a goal that only they were given to complete. Rejoice with them. Encourage them on their journey. We have to stick together. Didn’t God say that we were different, but working for the same end result?

There are different kinds of service, but we serve the same Lord. 1 Corinthians 12:5 (NLT.)

Love each other with genuine affection, and take delight in honoring each other. Romans 12:10 (NLT.)

In other words, wear your own pants, you will be much more comfortable.

Leave a Reply

