What’s That Blooming?

Typically, every Spring I race to the store to pick out several flowers to adorn my flower beds. They’re so lovely as I finish covering the last plant with soil. Then it happens…..

The next day I peer at my flowers and I see them drooping, as if to say, “Water me please.” I turn and say to myself, “Sure hope it rains today.” I just spent $50 on flowers to blossom and make my beds look like artwork van Gogh himself couldn’t produce. I would like for my flowers to bloom quickly, yet I wont take time to help them along.

004

Isn’t this what some of us do in reference to life. We want our dreams and desires to come to fruition, yesterday. So we work ever so concentrated everyday, and often times at night, as well. We keep wondering when IT is going to happen for us?

While we’re working so diligently, we’re missing one important  ingredient in our lovely flower bed of life – life! In the end it costs us precious time with the ones we love. Most importantly, the price we pay for keeping our eyes and minds set on our work only, is the blessing of doing what God wants us to do along the way.

Our child may ask, “Will you play ball with me?” Our husband may say, “There’s a good movie on tonight.” An elderly neighbor may call, “Could you come over for a few minutes and help me with something?”

We tend to get upset when things come in between us and our “to do” list for our grand achievement. What happens if we die before we reach our goals and dreams? We didn’t live, we only worked and didn’t cultivate and fertilize our most important possessions – our relationships. God created us to have a relationship with Him and He teaches us in the Bible how to do that. And you must love the LORD your God with all your heart, all your soul, all your mind, and all your strength….. Love your neighbor as yourself.’ No other commandment is greater than these. Mark 12:30 – 31

This is not dress rehearsal! Life is what’s going on around us while waiting for a grand event to take place. We are not preparing for an award winning performance nor are we waiting for our prize winning flower to blossom.

While I’m an advocate for dreaming big and chasing dreams and goals, I’ve had to prioritize my life.

In other words, bloom where you’re planted. Don’t look so far into the future that you don’t enjoy today.

001

 

Leave a Reply

