Mama Called

“What on earth?”, I said in disbelief as I woke up one morning. My cell phone had been charging through the night and when I went to pick it up, it showed a miss call from my mom.

This bewilder me because my mom had died the year before. Missing my mom, I cried a small river. I checked the date of the missed call and it was during the time of her battle with colon cancer.

My mind couldn’t help but wander back to that time. Mother was extremely sick and well on her way to be with the Lord. Had I failed to hear words she wanted to tell me from her precious heart? Had I missed an opportunity to tell her I loved her and how thankful I was that she was MY mother?

I never found out why the missed call showed up a year after mom’s death, but I remember the experience from time to time. It’s been five years now since she went to be with the Lord. The dreadful pain is still with me, but somehow it’s different. God has helped me cope with my loss by concentrating on how happy she is now and all the times we did say, “I love you.”

There was a lesson to be learned in all of this and I want to make sure I get that lesson right. Three things will last forever–faith, hope, and love–and the greatest of these is love.          1  Corinthians 13:13.

Tell your loved ones you love them as often as possible. Show that love as well. Tell them how much they mean to you; what they add to your life, even to your day.

Don’t wake up one morning, crushed, wondering if you missed an opportunity to express your love to someone who is now, no longer with you.

1091858_246190978838818_1342876997_n

3 comments

Leave a Reply

