It Dawned on Me

Going through old paperwork, I found a note I made to myself on January 30,1997. I’m not sure where I was or why I wrote it, but it seems so appropriate 18 years later.

When you go into a fabric store, you see all kinds of beautiful colors. You don’t really see one particular thing until you take one down and hold it and look at it more closely. Jesus takes each one of us individually into his arms and looks close into our lives.

I am so thankful that our loving Heavenly Father looks at us as individuals instead of His creation as a whole. As His creation, I picture a concert in which a massive amount of people are screaming and reaching up to touch the hand of the singer and the singer only touching one or two. 

Favorably for us, that’s not how our God works. Each of us can have a personal relationship with Him. Just by asking. His Love is given freely, it can’t be earned. And if His love had to be earned I would fall short every day.

Matthew 18:12-13 paints a beautiful picture of our Fathers love for us. If a man has a hundred sheep and one of them wanders away, what will he do? Won’t he leave the ninety-nine others on the hills and go out to search for the one that is lost? And if he finds it, I tell you the truth, he will rejoice over it more than over the ninety-nine that didn’t wander away!

When I picked up that worn piece of paper, it never dawned on me that what had been written so long ago had so much significance for today.

Water-Sky

Leave a Reply

