Amber Alert

One of the most heart-wrenching things for me to see is an Amber Alert flash across bottom of the TV screen or see an alert as you drive past a lit up sign on the road. To me that paints a picture of a parents heart shatter into a zillion pieces.

When my child was young, I took extra precautions to keep her safe. People who live in the darkness of the world can be ruthless and cause others great pain.

With God’s intervention, children are reunited with their parents. God then helps the broken heart of the parents and the terror of the child to heal.

Once the healing begins to fill the victims hearts, sometimes revenge may come to mind. I know its awful of me to think, but when I see wretched stories on the news of people being killed, I first think of what kind of punishment the perpetrator deserves. But their punishment is not for me to decide.

God tells us in Romans 12:19, Dear friends, never take revenge. Leave that to the righteous anger of God. For the Scriptures say, “I will take revenge; I will pay them back,” says the LORD. 

I believe this applies even to our petty struggles with one another. Only petty compared to what we see happening on the news. If someone wrongs me, I must keep God’s Words in mind. If I try to wrong the other person, I may see God’s revenge on myself. And that’s scary.

So we have to let the wrong doers do what they do and remember God is in control! Hopefully in the end, the ones who inflict harm on other people will first come to know Jesus as Lord and Savior, then get help for their own troubled hearts.

Saul was a murderer of Christians, but with God’s help became Paul and the author of most of the New Testament. How awesome a picture of God’s mercy.

It just so happens that Paul also wrote the verse above about revenge. I never thought about that until now.

This blog has been written with the help of my friend Tinna.

IMG_0023

Leave a Reply

