If I Had Nothing…….

How sad it is to see homeless people standing on the street corner asking for food or money. Speaking honestly, as I drive by them, I ask for God to get them to a homeless shelter somehow.

On the other hand, I’ve driven by huge, beautiful homes at night. With the lights on, you can see how magnificently furnished they are. Sometimes I wished I lived like that, other times I’m glad I don’t have that much square footage to clean :).

According to Scripture, which one of these people have it all; the poor man on the street corner or the lady that owns the beautiful home? Both could. Jesus makes it pretty clear, If I gave everything I have to the poor and even sacrificed my body, I could boast about it; but if I didn’t love others, I would have gained nothing. 1 Corinthians 13:3

Thankfully, God has given me talents and gifts to use for the benefit of others:

  • Words of encouragement (Sometimes when I can keep my mind focused on the good in others.)
  • Courage to step out in faith and make my dreams come true, while giving God all the praise that He rightly deserves
  • The gift of speaking in front of crowds. (This doesn’t frighten me. I’m to the point in my life when It doesn’t matter if other people laugh at me for doing what I’m supposed to do for God. Only what God thinks matters.)

There are many more which I’m discovering everyday. And God will show me how to use them for His sake.

None of this matters though if I don’t have love for others in my heart. If I could speak all the languages of earth and of angels, but didn’t love others, I would only be a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal. 1 Corinthians 13:1.

If I had nothing, where would I be? Living under a bride somewhere, and standing on the street corner holding a sign asking for food or money. But, if I had love for others, I would have it all!!

My Sunflower
My Sunflower
2 comments

Leave a Reply

