We Resign

My husband, Sam, and I are no spring chickens. On the other hand, you’re only as old as you feel; or act, right? Our biological ages are 52 and 46; however, our brains, bodies, and spirits are not in agreement with that.

We both love to laugh. Sometimes the things we do to have fun and laugh makes me think we should have our own sitcom. We act like kids. At any time you could hear us break into the theme song from, “Christmas Vacation.” We have our solo parts and some parts of it, we sing harmony. It’s hilarious!!

Sam and I are watching television in our living room and all of a sudden a text comes through my phone and it’s Sam. He is sending me a love note. How sweet is that? We continue texting and eventually start to laugh, because we are within arms reach of each other. My ‘Minnie Mouse’ coloring book comes in handy, also. Sometimes we get out the crayons and see who can stay in the lines.

The weather man forecasted snow for our city last week. Of course we were excited as we anticipated a snowball fight. Sam started doubting that we were going to get snow regardless of what the weather person on TV showed. Every 5 minutes we ran to the window to see if there were just one tiny snow flake falling. Picture in your mind two kids with their noses pressed into the window with sad, frowny faces. Then a thought came; Jesus is into the small details of our lives, just like the big ones. The Bible reads in Matthew 19:14, “Jesus said, Let the little children come to me and do not hinder them, for the Kingdom of Heaven belongs to such as these.” So, I began to pray for snow. The hours passed and no snow, but I told God I would not give up the faith in my prayer. As the sun went down and there was no snow in sight, I still told God I would not give up the faith.

A snow ball hit me in the head around 8:30 pm. Finally, God brought us two kids the snow. As you can imagine we were ecstatic and freezing cold, because we were outside playing like children. After about 30 minutes, we were numb so we did our snow angels for our angels that have gone on to heaven before us, and we went inside to get warm.

We did our high fives and knuckle bumps and said to each other, “Let’s put in our resignations as adults, and if anyone needs us, we will be playing “Head Bands.” 🙂

5 comments

Leave a Reply

