Mary Christmas

One of my favorite verses in the Bible is Luke 2:7, “And she brought forth her first born son, and wrapped Him in swaddling clothes, and laid Him in a manger; because there was no room for them in the inn.”  It has touch my heart from the moment I read it in Sunday School years ago.

Swaddling always reminds me of a mother holding her child firmly to her chest. Even grown children want that feeling from their mom, when they want a special feeling that no one other than the one who carried them for nine months can give. My mama would hug me when I visited her; I felt swaddled just because my head was on her shoulder and my arms were wrapped around her, and her’s around me.

I was taught that swaddling clothes are actually burial cloths that people who died were bound in after their death back in the old days. So, to me that means Jesus was born to die. And, that’s just what He did; for us.

What qualities did Mary have that God would pick her to bear the Son of God? I don’t know exactly, but I would like too. I know that God loves each of us the same, so what could it be? This coming year I’m going to study the Bible more, and pray that God will show me what characteristics I need to develop, and which ones I need to improve on; I will try and do this on a daily basis. This will be comforting to my Guardian Angel since she/he most likely throw their hands up each day, and ask if they could be assigned to someone else.

008

One comment

Leave a Reply

