Poems That Went Unread

Me

I’m not the world’s great beauty                                                                                                                                                A Rhodes scholar, I’ll never be.                                                                                                                                                 I cant paint a beautiful picture                                                                                                                                                 My singing is always off key.

My clothes are not designer                                                                                                                                                     And this hair style is way out of date.                                                                                                                                         I don’t remember like I used to                                                                                                                                               And sometimes I’m running quite late.

My steps are a little slower                                                                                                                                                         I have aches and pains galore.                                                                                                                                                   But the light that shines within me                                                                                                                                           New life to me restores.

I know my real home is Heaven                                                                                                                                        Where no one is keeping score.                                                                                                                                               Where wealth, fame, and beauty                                                                                                                                               Will mean nothing anymore.

I’ll rest at the feet of my Savior                                                                                                                                                   It won’t matter to Him, you see.                                                                                                                                                   He loves me just as I am                                                                                                                                                             And with Him forever I’ll be.

When my mama passed away on March 9, 2011, I found 2 journals that she kept. One of the books contained beautiful lines of rhyming words that flowed like a gentle stream. The other, a diary of how she felt about certain things that happened in her life. I choose not to read it as much due to the sadness it brings my heart; seems she had unresolved feelings. Feelings that only she and God knew.

I read a few of her poems several years before we found out that she was sick. Always encouraged her to send it to a publisher, or at least explore options of sharing her heart of poetry with others. Unfortunately, she didn’t think her writing was good enough.

When my book was published in January of this year, I shared my mama’s heart with the world. The one I shared with you above is what my mother’s life was about. There was no place she would rather be than with Jesus. We just didn’t know it would be so soon.

189047_10150117026252141_6761838_n

Leave a Reply

