Sunday Night Blues

As the weekend approaches, there tends to be an excitement in the air. Friends are called, plans are made, and it’s on!! Or, if you feel exhausted from the past week, you may want to take the weekend to rest; maybe read a good book. I do some of both.

My husband, Sam’s favorite past-time is football. He can also play a mean game of golf. That’s what excites him, awaiting the weekend. His mode of operation is, work hard all week and then relax with a game of golf with his best friend after work on Friday, and enjoy football on Saturday. My hobbies include: spending time with my grandchildren, writing (of course), photography, being at the beach, listening to music, yoga, and crafting/sewing. I am able to participate in most of my favorite things during the week. On Saturday, I enjoy catching up on my writing, if I’m not traveling to visit my grandchildren, going to a football game with Sam, or visiting the beach. Each day is the same to me.

Neither my husband nor myself are wrong in the way we view the weekends; we just differ on how to get there. Although, Sam is a good hearted, happy man, he rushes his life away to get to Friday. On the flip side of that, I try not to rush the day away, because time passes so quickly anyway; however, I try to cram the day full of too many things. I’m usually asleep or whining by the time my head hits the pillow at night.

Philippians 4:6-7, reminds us, “Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your request be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ.” We should both look at everyday as an opportunity to minister for Jesus, because there are still many lost souls. Anxiety to make it to the weekend, is a tool for satan to use against us to make us forget what’s really important, but God wants peace for us and souls saved.

On Sunday evening, we know the drill. Sam says to me, “Don’t do too much tomorrow and wear yourself out by the end of the day.”  And I say to Sam, “Don’t get those Sunday night blues, you have to go through Monday to get to Friday.”

007

2 comments

Leave a Reply

