Hanging on by a Thread

We all have dreams and/or goals. No matter if they’re large, medium, or small, we have them. For example, a large goal may consist of becoming a millionaire by the time you are 30. A medium goal might involve owning your own business; whereas a small goal could be learning sign language so you can assist a deaf person with hearing your pastor’s sermon.

Over a 5 year period, my goals consist of:                                                                         1. Completing my next writing project, a second non-fiction book.                                             2. Exploring more of the ministry God has for me.                                                           3. Stepping out of my comfort zone to discover my gifts and talents, and how God wants me to use them for Him.  
4. Paying off all of my bills.                                                                                     5. Moving to Orange Beach, Alabama.

None of the above are too big for God to handle, so I will dive in head first, and watch my goals unfold. I will keep the faith, and work hard until they become reality. God didn’t say that some things are possible with Him. Matthew 19:26 reads, “Jesus looked at them and said, With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.”  I would like to write that again, ALL THINGS ARE POSSIBLE WITH GOD!!!!

There is one thing that  God asks of us though; have faith. “What does it profit, my brethren, if someone says he has faith, but does not have works……”  James 2:14.  What that means to me is, I am going to move toward all of my dreams and goals by asking God what to do first. Taking one day at a time will keep me from becoming overwhelmed. I will speak of the items above as thought they are real (from James 4:17).

We may not see or know a way for our dreams to become alive, but God  has it all figured out. He is waiting for our faith to spring forth, and take action. He is waiting for the faith that is so strong that we begin to say “when” instead of “if”.

As we persevere, we may get discouraged. People can be cruel. They can laugh at what we desire; making us seem foolish. After that, we may disregard them ourselves.  We must keep the faith through rough times that make us want to settle where we are.

After a year or so of speaking positively about our 5 year plan, watching others giggle behind our backs, or satan setting road traps that get us off track, our faith may be hanging on by a thread. That’s ok!!! We only need a mustard seed size faith.

099

2 comments

  1. Wow, lisa! You are really good at writing these. You have such insight and i believe God has blessed you with this gift, so keep on sending your inspirational readings…they are an encouragement to those who read them!

    Like

    • Thank you so much Kathy. I really appreciate the encouragement. All of my post are inspired by God. Some days I sit in front of my computer with nothing. All of a sudden, I hear God speaking the words for the post. It’s awesome 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

