Sacrifices of the Heart

The definition of “sacrifice” is a loss or something you give up, usually for the sake of a better cause. Reading the definition, I think of our armed forces who protect us, so we can sleep peacefully at night. Each one of them have sacrificed their own lives to defend our country.

Giving up my day of organizing the house to go with my husband to a football game is a sacrifice on a smaller scale ( I know, I know…..organizing the house…..that’s a sickness, but I love doing it.) I feel selfish, because I really don’t want to go. My husband is the most kindhearted, gentle man that I know, so I realize I would rather him be happy than myself.

Let’s talk about the largest scale of sacrifice ever to happen. Jesus gave His life for us. I picture angels on stand-by saying, “Please call us and we will sweep you up to Heaven, and you wont have to go through this torture.” I imagine the Father, that sent His only Child to Earth, turning His head away with tears streaming, because of what He had to do.

I’m sure that if we could live and not die in our sins, Jesus would rather have spent the time on the cross, another way. When Jesus was born, He knew He would have to die, because of our sinful nature. John 3:16 sums this story up for me. “For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish, but have everlasting life.”

We have all heard that Scripture before, but have we really thought about it like this? When I was young, it was a Bible verse that our Sunday School class had to memorize. We said it fast and meaningless. We really weren’t old enough to understand it fully. Now that I do, it means LIFE to me.

I am going to challenge myself, and all of you guys, to think of this verse every morning as we awake, and thank God for His sacrifice of the Heart.

049

Leave a Reply

