Burn Your Bitterness

I pulled up the ‘friends’ section of my “Facebook” page. As I went through all of the people who invited me to be a friend or who I invited to be a friend, I realized I had bitterness in my heart against some of them. Sounds strange doesn’t it? Why would I want them on my page if there is a barrier between us?

I don’t understand what happened to friendship. When I was in Junior High School, if you were blessed enough to find a true a friend, you remained friends. You stood up for each other. No back stabbing, no competing about clothes or other material objects. Only support, and the truth, whether good or bad, but in a kind way.

Although, I have 376 friends on my FB page, I don’t truly know each one. I would like to though. I enjoy reading about others blessings, looking at photos, inspiring someone when they are down in the dumps, and most especially prayer. Not only me praying for them, but them praying  for me, as well. On the flip side of that, I like sharing my stories, my photos, and my goals/ambitions. I don’t take any kind word or prayer for granted. I don’t even take the ‘likes’ for granted.

When I realized I had unforgiveness and bitterness in my heart for some of my ‘friends’, God told me what to do. He told me to write on paper the names and the nature of the built up anger that had turned in to a cancer inside me. He also said to pray and ask for forgiveness for all the time I had wasted feeling that way; release it all and let it all go. Then burn the paper as a symbol of getting thoughts and feelings that were not of God out of my life. “Let all bitterness, wrath and anger and clamor and slander be put away from you along with all malice. Be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, as God in Christ forgave you.” Ephesians 4:31 & 32.

You see, it doesn’t really matter what people think of us. We can only do our best and try to make a Godly impression on others. That doesn’t mean that we are perfect, it means we are striving toward an abundant life filled with no barriers between us and God, and loving our neighbor as ourselves.

After all, It’s not a person that we hold anger against that hurts, its us. Most of the time they don’t know that we feel that way. Whether it’s writing down our thoughts and burning them, or simply, going down our list of ‘friends’ and praying for each one, God will tell you how to get rid of something the devil could use to creep into your life and make a mess.

Nothing on this earth is going to matter when God calls His children home except, what we did for Him. So, check your feelings and take control, so the devil can’t!!!

106037

One comment

Leave a Reply

