Father May I

When I  was a child, my dad took parenting seriously. He made sure that I went to church, did my homework, and used my manners. Dad taught me about planting a garden and eating our own fruits and vegetables. I’m a terrible cook, he never taught me about cooking. Dad gave me a few helpful tips about preparing food, but when I tried it, it didn’t turn out the way his did. Looking back to Thanksgiving 1992, I slaved over a hot stove for hours to make a dinner that my dad would be proud of. He ate it, and when he was done, he said these very words, “Don’t ever cook for me again unless I tell you too”! It’s funny now, back then I gave up on being a good cook. I just tried to get by. I don’t like cooking anyway.

Daddy was the disciplinarian of the two parents. Mother was the one that I went crying to when Dad was too tough on me. He was only tough because he loved me. I needed that toughness to make it through life. Dad drove an eighteen wheeler for a living. That meant early to rise and early to bed. After he had gone to sleep, sometimes I received phone calls from friends. “Hey Lisa, can you go to the movies with me tomorrow”, one of my best friends would ask?  At that time of night when dad was asleep, I couldn’t ask him. I wrote a note and put it on his counter and he would answer it before he left for work. When I awoke, I ran to the counter to see what the answer was. Usually, the answer was yes.

God reminds me that my relationship with my dad is much like God’s relationship with us. God wants to be good to us. He wants us to ask Him for big things. He wants us to ask Him for our dreams and desires. God owns everything, so His children are heirs to all He has. Matthew 7:11 reads, ” If you then, being evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father who is in heaven give good gifts to those who ask?” 

I’m not afraid of pursuing my dreams. I’m, also, not afraid to ask God for supernatural things that only God could make happen. God is our ultimate Father. He loves us much more than anyone ever has or ever will, including our dads. The Scriptures give us lots of helpful words to live by, to encourage us not to give up when things get tough. All we have to do is dig in deep and read God’s words.

I’m thankful that my dad gave me helpful tips, also:

1. Sweep the floor barefoot so you can tell if you are getting up all of the dirt.

2. Your are not finished washing dishes (in the sink) until all the bubbles have gone down the drain.

3. Don’t use credit cards.

4. Always use your manners, including yes ma’am, no ma’am, yes sir and no sir.

5.If you take on a task, do it right the first time, so you don’t have to re-do it.

Image

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

