When the Silence is Deafening

I stumbled upon a journal as I was rummaging through boxes of my mom’s things that have been stored away. Mother died three years ago and I still can’t part with things that I knew meant a lot to her.

I stopped what I was doing and read a few pages of her journal. What I read brought tears to my eyes and flooded my soul with heartache. Mom went through a period of loneliness that I failed to see. She poured out her heart in this book about feeling alone in the world, feeling like she had no one she could talk to. As I thought about this more, I wondered why she didn’t call me to tell me that she wanted someone to talk with. She told no one, except her journal. She did not want to intrude in the lives of her children, so she wrote about her feelings.

There are many times I struggle with the fact that I could have done more, I could have been more sensitive and realized that she could have needed someone to talk to even if she doesn’t ask. I can’t change anything in the past. There is something, however, that I can do. Helping others that may be lonely would be a tribute to my mother that she would be proud of. You may be wondering, how can we help if we don’t know? We can be sensitive and listen to what people are not saying. We can reach out to them by inviting them to participate in activities in which we are involved. Calling someone to check on them and see how they’re doing is a simple thing to us, but could be a huge thing for someone that’s alone.

If you are the one that’s lonely, don’t be afraid to tell someone. Talk to God and ask Him to bring friends into your life. I did it and now have some of the best friends I’ve ever had. For a season, I was the one who felt alone in the world. I put on a happy face, but inside I was crying for someone to befriend me. Your life can be full and fulfilling. Call on the name of the Lord and ask for His help. 

Today my life is more exciting than ever. I’m watching my dreams unfold before my eyes. There are many people in my life that I love, and I know they love me as well. Now days, I often value the time that I have alone. Whether it be 5 minutes or 5 hours, I enjoy a little “me” time.

Remember two things: God wants you to have abundance. To you, that could mean friends or more activity in your life. Also, just because you live alone, doesn’t mean you have to be lonely. Learn to love yourself and enjoy your own company.Image

Leave a Reply

