Don’t Let Your Thoughts Control You

Our brain waves are busy bees, all day long. From the time that we wake up in the morning until the time we fall asleep at night, our brains are racing, if you’re like me. Riding to work I think about what God has done for me, what tasks I want to undertake at work, how my children are doing, even down to how my make-up looks. Often times, I’m tired by the time I get to work because I had so many things going through my head on the way. I’ve already finished the whole day before I get there.

Personally, I would like to cut off my mind at times. Sitting outside in my swing on a sunny day thinking about nothing sounds good to me. On the flip side of that, there are days when I want to put my thoughts on paper so I can turn them into a book or blog. I keep a pen and paper with me at all times so that I can write down good ideas to share with others.

Satan, who I refer to as “the enemy”, cannot read our hearts or our minds but he can insert unwanted thoughts. We must remain cognizant of what runs through our minds at all times. If what we are thinking doesn’t line up with God’s Word, then it definitely is not from God. Some things from my past hurt badly; however, we have two choices: We can listen to what the enemy has to say or we can keep our mind set on things of God. When I think about my sweet mother that passed away a few years ago, if I concentrate on the suffering that she went through, I get sad and cry, if I think about the amazing, inconceivable life that she is living now, I have such a good feeling on the inside. See how our thoughts generate our emotions?

My computer has a delete button. Picture that button in your head and when the enemy puts unwanted thoughts there, hit that delete button and walk on!!!! 

 

Leave a Reply

