How Can I Help?

I find myself asking God, regularly, to help me loose weight. Seems as though, I have increased by two sizes since high school. I don’t like it, not one bit; however, there could never be enough white chocolate in the world for me to eat. Sugar cookies, peanut butter cookies, oatmeal-raisin cookies, I could eat for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Needless to say, I have a sweet tooth.

I spend too much money, at times and I find myself asking God for more money. Although, thankfully, I don’t live paycheck to paycheck, I have been in that boat before and it’s not a good feeling. After a long week of work, I feel like I need a treat, when in reality if I wouldn’t have that treat and save my money, I might loose weight and not need more money. It’s a vicious cycle.

Where does this cycle end? How can we help ourselves? God helps those who help themselves!! This is a great phrase and I believe it with all of my heart but it is not in the Bible. It was actually included in an article entitled, Discourse Concerning Government by Algernon Sydney in 1698. It does make good sense though. How can I ask God to help me loose weight if I am smacking on candy when I ask? I have to refrain from eating sweets on a daily basis and get rest and exercise to become healthy and loose all of those pounds that I want to loose. I also have to find other ways to treat myself, like a walk in the park or taking pictures of nature, which I really enjoy. Neither activity costs money. It simply isn’t fair of me to ask God to help me save money while I’m buying doughnuts or getting a manicure.

When we ask the Lord for a specific thing, we have to do our part. Not that the Lord couldn’t just speak it and it happen; nevertheless, He expects us to show some initiative. So, I’m going to start today, after I finish my white chocolate, carrot cake candy, to seriously try and reduce my size. I’m going to ask God to guide me as I do this. Starting today, I’m asking the Lord to help me choose healthy activities when I’m tired and stressed instead of spending my money on things that will be eaten and I will have nothing to show for except, increasing my size.

To sum all of this up, live well – participate in a mentally and physically healthy lifestyle. Laugh often – even if it’s at yourself while your stuffing your mouth with cakes and pies. Love MUCH – forgive yourself when you fail and start again.

 

Leave a Reply

