Take Care of Yourself

Life comes at us quickly, whether we like it or not. Time doesn’t stand still for anyone. When I was young it seemed as though there were 30 hours in one day and 15 months in a year, not these days. As an adult in an ever changing world, we must roll with the flow or we are going to get run over by something or someone. Don’t misunderstand, wonderful, happy things happen as the days go by and we have pleasant times that we cherish. They happen in an instant so we must recognize them and not let them slip by us. Still, stress is lurking all around just waiting for a chance to stick its nasty head into our lives. Work, family crisis, school, and many other ways in which we are pulled, cause us to build up feelings of stress that can cause us physical illness.

What puts you into a state of rest? For me, its a trip to the beach. When life seems to be closing in, I have to retreat to the ocean. Sitting close to the water with my feet in the sand, listening to the waves roll in and out, I’m taken away to my happy place. All of the cares of the world seem to fade away with the sounds of the sea gulls and the feel of sand in my toes. No talking, no reading, no radio, for a while, until I feel “healed”. As I unwind, I feel myself getting closer and closer to God. You see, God doesn’t cause all of this stress. I know this because scripture says that only good gifts come from above and as I realize this, the stress melts away.

I am a firm believer that you have to take care of yourself before you can take care of others. If we are unhappy, unhealthy, and weighted down with worries of the world, then what good will we be for anyone else. That is what life is all about to me – caring for others. This is almost  impossible to do in a positive manner if we are not in good shape physically and mentally.

Take good care of yourself, so you can take care of others, and God can take care of you!

 

Leave a Reply

