Sticks and Stones May Break My Bones (Dedicated to My Best Friend)

I do not agree with the statement, “Sticks and stones may break my bones but, words will never hurt me.” As a child, I heard this every time I came home from school when another kid said something to me that hurt my feelings. My mother, dad, and especially my grandparents, would say this to me. I said it over and over in hopes of making myself believe it. I never quite bought it, though.

Kids at school can be mean! I saw it then and I see it now. Children are bullied so much that we hear occurrences of suicide. It hurts my heart to write that but, sadly, it’s true. Some may not be bothered by it as much as others; however, I know that unkind words bothered me and still do, to some degree.

Adults are not immune. Just because we grew up, doesn’t mean that we don’t become hurt at things people say. Many times I have walked into a room at work and the ones that were there, stared at me and abruptly stopped their conversation. It’s makes me wonder if they were speaking of me? I expect that many of you have the same thoughts from time to time. Stumbling upon someone speaking badly of us, especially, hurts. Unless you have reached your full potential of confidence, words go deep into our hearts. We start by crying, then we bargain with ourselves trying to realize that it doesn’t matter what others think of us. Lastly, we become angry and want to lash out at the person that offended us.

On the flip side of that, we do the same thing. We see an individual who is not like us or doesn’t make the same choices as us and we begin picking them apart, flaw by flaw. Who are any of us to judge? Scripture says that, anyone without sin can cast the first stone.
Let’s explore what we want to learn from this:
1. God made everyone differently. The mold was thrown away when each of us were created.
2. Would we like everyone in the world to be just like us?
3. No one is without sin!
4. We, really, should only speak of someone in an uplifting way.

We don’t have to do what everyone else does. Our minds and our mouths are our own.
It is not our business what others think of us. Having said that, all that we can do is our very best. And at the end of the day, everyone will either be happy about the words they spoke or not so happy. I, for one, want to be happy.

Sticks and stones will break bones but words will break hearts.

Leave a Reply

