What Makes You Laugh?

Have you found that laughter is contagious? If I hear a baby laugh, it makes me laugh from deep in my soul. It’s almost like an angel singing. I often chuckle at things my husband says because he has a good sense of humor. Other times, a friend tells a story or I watch a movie that is hilarious and I belly laugh. Belly laughing is what I like to call one of those laughs where tears are flowing in a happy way.

As we all know, things and circumstances get to us and get us down sometimes. Those are the times that we need to remember what Scripture says about laughter, “Laughter does good like a medicine”. What does this mean? To me it means that I can’t stay sad if I”m laughing.

We are not promised a tomorrow. My sweet mother died 3 years ago at the age of 62. She was just starting to enjoy life but God chose to call her home. When I watched her go from well to extremely ill in 6 months, I realized that none of the worries of life mattered any more. What mattered on her death bed seemed to change from what we thought mattered. I wished that mom and I had laughed more and worried less.

There comes a time when we have to stop over thinking, stop trying to figure out things, stop worrying about the future and just BREATHE.

Take time to smell the roses and laugh out loud. It’s good for you!!!

Leave a Reply

